May 15th, 2017 (Vol. 24, No. 9) PEOPLE

Big Five! Questions with OLA President Elsa Loftis

Profile Picture
OLA President Elsa Loftis is the first entry in a new Q & A series, Big Five!

1. What is your first library-related memory? 

Story time at the library in Lake Oswego, going with my Mom. I remember one time where all the kids wore costumes, it must have been around Halloween because there’s a picture of me at about 3 years old dressed as a witch in the library (I was always a witch for Halloween, without fail).

2. What is your favorite place in Oregon? 

I have a lot of favorite places in Oregon, so that is a tough question! It might be the Elizabethan Theater in Ashland … but I think I’d have to say it’s Canyon Creek Meadows, a hike I love to take in Central Oregon. I spent every summer in Camp Sherman growing up, near the Metolius River, so anywhere in that area, really.

3. What was the last gift you gave someone? 

My nephew, Henrik, just turned 5, so I gave him a Spiderman flashlight for an upcoming camping trip, and a blanket that looks like you’re being swallowed by a shark when you are in it. He is crazy for sharks–he lives every week like it’s Shark Week.

4. What do you think about when you’re alone in the car/on the bus/going somewhere else? 

What am I forgetting? I have to be forgetting something. Do we have enough diapers/dog food/laundry detergent?

5. What’s the most interesting thing about you that’s not on your resume? 

I backpacked in several countries with my husband (then boyfriend) after college, and we stayed in New Zealand for about a year. We lived out of a van, and for a short time, ran a youth hostel where we learned how to breath fire from a man who used to travel with a circus around Europe. He was later the officiant at our wedding. Not sure if that’s the most interesting thing, but it’s a fun story to tell my two sons about.

We’re looking for more interviewees! Answers can be as long or short as you like and a photo –of you or related to your answers– is appreciated! Send to olahotline@olaweb.org.

Leave a Reply

